Covered (April 2012)


In my bed covered in children
Who move like water to fill the spaces left
Because close is not enough
The milk filled one
Warm and sticky sweet
Flopped crossways over me, belly to belly
The other one, with his hands entangled in my hair
Pressed to my side
Breath in my ear
We slumber late into the morning
Inhaling and exhaling
Our body rises and falls as one

About Jen Sabatier

I serve as a companion for those struggling in transitions, grief, and loss. I am a mother of five, wife, artists, writer, and student in the Consciousness and Transformational Studies program at John F. Kennedy University.

One response »

  1. I love this, Jen! I can relate so well……and I love that you turned this moment into a poem. “Because close is not enough” is such a great line. Keep writing and sharing!

    Reply

Leave a comment